Christian

FAITH IS AN ACTION

I’ve been praying for STRONG UNSHAKABLE FAITH for a while now. I didn’t want to wither away at the first sight of obstacles. I didn’t want to be like the seed which fell on the stones.

I wanted to have strong faith and hold fast in spite of all the circumstances.

I had prayed for this and never thought anything more into it.

But last night as I was thinking of why I am going through all these tough times, I kept asking God why? Why did you provide me with chances and the almost ‘job-offers’ and snatched them away from me? Why is this happening to me and me alone??

Why is my faith being questioned when I am trying to hold on..barely???

That was when something from the movie ‘Evan Almighty’ aka ‘Noah’s ark’ popped into my mind. (Yeah, I watched it.. AGAIN!!!)

morgan-freeman-evan-almighty

When someone prays for patience, what does God do?

Does He give you patience or opportunities to be patient?

When someone prays for courage, what does He do?

Does He give courage or opportunity to be courageous?

Woooo…

There was the answer. I prayed for Faith and what does He do? He gave a situation to be strong in faith.

And, it is definitely NOT FUN!!

It is trying, tiring and terrible. But ha! Who loves training anyway?

Thus, here I am, utilising the opportunity.

So Faith is an action!!

As Hebrews 11:1 says “…faith is the substance of things hoped for…”, it is clear that Faith is not the HOPING but the substance of it.

Substance meaning ‘confidence’ ‘evidence’ or ‘certainity’.

It refers to living as if what you hope for is already granted, which means once you have faith that the Lord has answered your prayers, YOUR WORDS, YOUR ACTIONS, YOUR ATITUDE, YOUR GESTURES, YOUR THOUGHTS ( God can see your thoughts, remember?) and even YOUR MINI-EXPRESSIONS as you talk about it should reflect that your prayer has been ANSWERED.

Yes, surely you will look like a fool in the eyes of the world. Have absolutely no doubt about that.

You are going to climb up the stairs without seeing the entire staircase.

faith-is-taking-the-first-step-even-when-you-dont-see-the-whole-stair-case-martin-luther-king-jr

What kind of a fool would do that??

Well, Peter did..Abraham did…Noah did..Elijah did..

And none of them ended as a failure.

There was this wonderful man of God in our church who used to say “Faith is the only currency that is accepted in Heaven.”

Hebrews 11: 6

‘But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.’

So lets have faith. A working faith. A faith in action. A faith which reflects in our ACTIONS.

It is definitely not easy but it is the ONLY way!!

21 thoughts on “FAITH IS AN ACTION

  1. I believe God has a sense of humor. I was looking for that Scripture (Hebrews 11:6) just a few moments ago. I have been on and off the phone and was reading at the same time. I check my email and see your like. Checked your page, lo and behold here is that Scripture. Now, I know the Scripture by heart but wanted to write it in my journal. The post is timely and the truth of the matter as you so eloquently put it, is that what we pray for, we go through. I have been going through the job thing myself. Get through the training and not pass the test, etc. Not sure what God is doing, but I trust Him. At any rate, we can travel this path together and I look forward to reading more from you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

